Home > How-To > Verizon Netbook – Gateway LT2016U Ubuntu Netbook Remix with Verizon Wireless Broadband – WORKS!

Verizon Netbook – Gateway LT2016U Ubuntu Netbook Remix with Verizon Wireless Broadband – WORKS!


We got an awesome deal on the Gateway LT2016U netbook from Verizon Wireless recently. $50 for the netbook and reused an existing line that already had mobile broadband, so there were no real additional monthly costs. The netbooks shipped with Windows XP Home pre-installed, which is all well and good for basic usage, but I wanted something better.

First task was getting Linux installed on the netbook. Since there’s no cd-rom, my options were limited to installing from USB, SD Card, Netboot or External Media Drive. I tested out using the USB and SD Cards, but either I’ve got bum cards or there’s other difficulties with these that I’d never encountered. Regardless, speeds reading from these devices to attempt an installation were incredibly slow. Since I’ve got an external dvd-burner, I opted to go with this route just for it’s easiness.

The distro I decided on was the Ubuntu Netbook Remix 9.10 Karmic Koala x86. Available at the time of writing here http://www.ubuntu.com/GetUbuntu/download-netbook

Installation was a breeze. Since the netbook utilizes a hidden partition to restore the machine to it’s original state, I split the Windows XP partition in half, leaving the original system intact and installing Ubuntu to the remaining space. This gives me approximately 80GB on the windows side and about 66GB on the Ubuntu side. Since I have no plans on using this for storing mass amounts of data, this configuration was optimal.

After installation, the netbook remix edition works flawlessly short of no connectivity for the Verizon Wireless Broadband internal adapter. Desktop and menu layouts have been optimized for the small screen size of the netbook and rapid access to common applications.

Now to the good stuff.

Getting the Verizon Wireless Broadband adapter to work is pretty straight forward, though will require a minor amount of command line usage.

The chipset used for the broadband card in my particular model of netbook’s was the Qualcomm 9212. This card will register as a 9211 until it’s firmware is loaded. Firmware only stays resident while power is being applied. So if the netbook is powered off, then booted into linux, the firmware will not be present on the card and as such the card will not be registered in the OS as a valid device for communication. To overcome this, I had to use the Gobi Loader – http://www.codon.org.uk/~mjg59/gobi_loader/

First verify that you are in fact using the 9211 chipset by running ‘lsusb’ from the terminal. You should see a device listed as ‘ID 05c6:9211 Qualcomm, Inc.’
If your chipset differs, these instructions will not work for you.

Download the current version, at the time of this writing it is 0.3 http://www.codon.org.uk/~mjg59/gobi_loader/download/gobi_loader-0.3.tgz

You will need to decompress the archive, run a make and then make install. This will produce a binary file called ‘gobi_loader’. I then moved gobi_loader into /usr/local/bin

You will need the firmware provided on the windows installation to allow the card to run. In my installation, the files on the windows side were under \QUALCOMM\QDLService\Packages\1\  (Your path may be different. There were 10 different sets of firmware included on my windows partition, it took a bit of trial and error to determine which firmware worked and which didn’t. What appears to be the case is the amss.mbn for GSM is roughly 9MB and the amss.mbn for CDMA is roughly 5MB. For Verizon, you want the CDMA file and it’s associated apps.mbn.

The two files amss.mbn and apps.mbn will need to be copied into /lib/firmware/gobi/ If this folder does not exist, you will need to create it.

Once these files have been copied, test the gobi_loader with the following command ‘gobi_loader /dev/ttyUSB0 /lib/firmware/gobi’. Then run ‘lsusb’ and check to see that you now show the QUALCOMM device as ‘ID 05c6:9212 Qualcomm, Inc. ‘

If that is the case, then you are almost done. If that is not the case, something went wrong, repeat the steps above and try again.

All that is left now is to modify rc.local to include our loader, so when we boot from a full power down, the firmware will be loaded the first time. Modify /etc/rc.local and add ‘gobi_loader /dev/ttyUSB0 /lib/firmware/gobi’ anywhere below the comments and above the ‘exit 0’ line Be sure to add a carriage return to the end of your command so that it will execute the exit 0 and properly run at boot.

Save your rc.local, fully turn off the machine. Power the machine on from a powered off state, boot to the OS and login. Bring up a terminal and run ‘lsusb’. You should again see the Qualcomm device listed as ‘ID 05c6:9212 Qualcomm, Inc. ‘

You should now be able to click on the network icon on the menu bar and you should see an item labeled “New Mobile Broadband (CDMA) connection…”

Select this option and begin the wizard to establish the new connection. Selecting Verizon as your wireless provider. Upon completion, you will have a new Verizon Connection option under the network menu bar option, however we need to make a final modification to this connection before we can call this complete. Edit the Verizon Connection and insert the following information: For Username, you will need to enter your mobile broadband tel# @vzw3g.com i.e. 1234567890@vzw3g.com. The password is ‘vzw’. Apply these changes, then click back to the network menu, then select the ‘Verizon Connection’ to establish the connection to the verizon network.

You should show a notification of a connection established and that’s it, you’ve successfully connected to the verizon wireless broadband network. The only other thing you should do now is purchase a stick of 2gb pc2-5300 ram for that netbook to replace the installed 1gb and you’ve got a rockin mobile workstation 🙂

  1. Steve
    2010/01/04 at 7:37 pm

    Hey, great article it’s really been helping me so far. I did have a question though. When I installed Ubuntu I did a clean install so I don’t have the ‘windows’ side to my computer in order to get firmware (…/QDLServices/1). This is my first time ever really using Ubuntu (or Linux for that matter) so any extra advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

  2. 2010/01/04 at 8:20 pm

    Your best bet would be to install the vzaccess manager software onto a windows computer and extract the drivers from there. If you go to vzam.net, select consumer downloads. Then choose Windows Vista/XP/2000 as the Operating System. Then select the ‘Embedded Device in a Laptop’ option. Following this, select the Gateway LT20 Netbook as the hardware. Download and install the software onto a windows machine and you will then be able to extract the firmware files. I cannot supply the firmware files.

    • Steve
      2010/01/04 at 9:24 pm

      ok, I have another question (sorry haha). I downloaded the gobi_loader-0.3 file and extracted it, but i am unable to move the gobi_loader.c into /usr/local/bin. I assume that I’m probably doing something wrong with the .tgz file

      • 2010/01/04 at 9:50 pm

        After you extract the tgz, run ‘make; make install’ inside the directory where the gobi_loader.c file is located. This will produce the gobi_loader application. which is necessary to run. To copy the gobi_loader executable into the /usr/local/bin directory, you will need to use the following command – sudo cp gobi_loader /usr/local/bin

    • Steve
      2010/01/05 at 1:42 am

      great. all of those steps worked! I’m waiting on my friend to use his computer with windows xp (i can’t use mine because it has 7 installed), but in the meantime I noticed that I don’t have /lib/firmware/gobi folder. How exactly would I create that using terminal?

      • 2010/01/05 at 2:10 pm

        To make the directory, you’ll need to use the command ‘sudo mkdir /lib/firmware/gobi’ . Once you’ve gotten the firmware, it’s going to be trial and error getting the right firmware. If this is the Verizon Gateway netbook, your amss.mbn firmware file should be about 5mb.

  3. 2010/01/04 at 8:27 pm

    Alternatively, if you’re not using the Gateway LT20 netbook, select the model of netbook you are using. Glad this guide is helping you though. That was my hope.

  4. Steve
    2010/01/05 at 10:50 pm

    hey I just wanted to say thanks, I finally got my Verizon network to work too! There’s absolutely no way I would have figured it out with this guide either so thanks again!

    • 2010/01/05 at 11:56 pm

      Awesome 🙂 Glad to hear you got it working!

  5. matthew
    2010/01/17 at 6:34 am

    This article is great but im having trouble running the make; make install inside the gobi loader.c, im new to this so how do you do this?

    • 2010/01/18 at 4:24 am

      Open the command prompt, change directory to where you extracted the gobi loader archive. Inside that directory, run ‘make’ and the gobi loader will be compiled. To run make install you will need to actually run this as sudo. I’ll have to double check, but I almost don’t think this generates anything outside of the gobi loader build folder, I could be wrong though. Been a bit since I looked at it. Once this is done, you will have a binary executable named ‘gobi_loader’

  6. matthew
    2010/01/18 at 5:16 am

    ok i changed the directory to my home, in the terminal, which is where i extracted the gobi, but when i run “make” i get this,
    matthew@AcesWild:/home$ Make
    No command ‘Make’ found, did you mean:
    Command ‘rake’ from package ‘rake’ (universe)
    Command ‘bake’ from package ‘bake’ (universe)
    Command ‘fake’ from package ‘fake’ (universe)
    Command ‘cake’ from package ‘cakephp-scripts’ (universe)
    Command ‘make’ from package ‘make’ (main)
    Make: command not found
    am i doing something wrong?

  7. matthew
    2010/01/18 at 5:37 am

    i also tried it lower case,
    matthew@AcesWild:/home$ make
    make: *** No targets specified and no makefile found. Stop.
    and this is what i got

    • 2010/02/12 at 7:48 pm

      Ahh, Matthew, sorry for such a long delay in response. I completely missed this comment. What you will need to do is this :
      matthew@AcesWild:/home$ cd gobi_loader-0.3
      matthew@AcesWild:/home$ make
      matthew@AcesWild:/home$ sudo make install
      matthew@AcesWild:/home$ sudo cp gobi_loader /usr/local/bin

  8. Sue
    2010/02/24 at 7:36 pm

    why does this have to be so complicated??? I just need to know what plug and play DVD player will work with the Gateway Netbook LT2016u, with Windows xp?

    • 2010/02/25 at 1:41 am

      I’ve not found a plug and play external DVD drive that I haven’t gotten to work with my LT2016U while running Windows XP. My main external is a Sony Slim USB DVD Burner from Newegg – http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16827118035
      This article was meant to instruct on how to get the 3G wireless modem working with Linux installed on the netbook.

  9. ol_hipy
    2010/03/06 at 12:51 am

    I’ve installed Apple’s Snow leopard on a fast SDHC card on the LT2016U. Everything works really nicely, including the tiny USB Bluetooth dongle and Time Machine via external USB hard drive. Everything, that, is except wifi and Verizon 3G.

    Do we know will the above steps work for OSX 10.6?

    Also, I’ve seen some references to fixing the wifi problem by swapping out the Atheros card for a Dell DW1390 (I think), but I’m not clear if that’s a mini card that will fit in the LT2016U. Does anyone have any insight on this?

    Thanks.

    • 2010/03/06 at 11:37 pm

      Yeah, I was never able to get either the wifi or verizon to work under OSX on the netbook. However, that’s a good possibility with swapping the atheros for a different wifi card. I’ll have to do some digging on this.

      • ol_hipy
        2010/03/07 at 3:59 pm

        I would very much appreciate that. I also have two clarification questions:

        1. Do you mean you tried the above ubuntu process on OSX and it didn’t work?

        2. I think (am not sure) the 3G is handled by a Qualcomm card. I wonder if that, too, could be swapped out for something that will work for Verizon and OSX?

        Thanks!!!

      • 2010/03/07 at 7:35 pm

        I actually attempted to use the Verizon VZAccess Software with the card, tried various firmware methods and still could not make it work. I think I might be close, but still not yet.
        The 3g card is definitely a Qualcomm card. What will work with OSX and 3g is an external USB 3g card, though that defeats the purpose of having the internal, now doesn’t it 😉

      • ol_hipy
        2010/03/26 at 2:15 pm

        Hi, Just checkin’ in to see if you maybe got anywhere with getting Verizon 3G operational? I’m still struggling with this with no luck.

        I WAS able to fix the WiFi by swapping in a Dell 1510 half-height mini card.

        Thanks much!

      • 2010/03/26 at 5:33 pm

        Whoah! Rock on, that’s awesome news then. Still haven’t had too much luck on the 3g front. Though I’ve been in the middle of some major work with my actual job, so I’ve not been able to do too much testing. Any chance of getting the model number of the card you installed, so I can update the article with that info?

      • ol_hipy
        2010/03/26 at 6:00 pm

        It’s a Dell Model 1510 wifi card. Plenty of them on eBay for around $12-15.

        I originally got a Dell 1390 card, because I kept reading that was the one people were using in the acer aspire one d150 hackintoshes. However the 1390 is too big. The LT2016U (like the Aspire One D250) uses the Dell 1510 which is. half-height mini PCIe card.

        Installing it is harder too – not for the faint of heart. It’s under the keyboard, you have to remove everything from the back, turn it over and remove the top bezel, struggle with the keyboard removal, disconnect three microscopic ribbon cables, then re-assemble.

        However, now I have internal WiFi for both XP and OSX.

        If I could just get the 3G going under OSX.

  10. ol_hipy
    2010/03/07 at 9:12 pm

    Wow. If you can get this working, you’re going to be a hero to me, and other LT2016U users. You’ve actually given me some hope after my futile efforts. I will share your blog with the other sites and send you a gift card!

    Keep me advised!!!

  11. JohnS
    2010/05/28 at 3:30 pm

    Not Woking on 10.4 netbook remix 😦 I just hangs after I test it….
    Hangs here

    gobi_loader /dev/ttyUSB0 /lib/firmware/gobi

    Any help would be great ….
    thanks for this write up
    John
    ducati9595fx@aol.com

    • 2010/05/28 at 8:11 pm

      Thanks! I hadn’t tested with 10.4 yet, so I’ll test this weekend.

  12. john
    2010/05/28 at 3:52 pm

    Not working on 10.4 netbook remix

  13. CJ
    2010/05/28 at 6:35 pm

    Everything worked for me regarding getting gobi_loader to load the proper firmware. “lsusb” shows the correct ID for the card “05c6:9212 Qualcom, Inc.”, but when I go to set up the WWAN card in the “Network Connections” app, under the “Mobile Broadband” tab, “Add” button, I don’t get any mobile broadband devices to select from if the drop down menu. Any ideas????

    • 2010/05/28 at 8:11 pm

      Are you using 10.4? I’ve not tested it on that release yet. Will give it a go this weekend.

      • cj
        2010/05/28 at 8:28 pm

        I am using the versions used in this article.

    • 2010/05/28 at 8:18 pm

      Just thought about this, did you reboot after you got the gobi_loader to load the firmware, to test that your init script loaded it at boot? It might take two reboots, I had that issue once when I had to reinstall after a hard drive upgrade.

      • cj
        2010/05/28 at 8:35 pm

        three reboots and still no love. lsusb shows the correct firmware, so the rc.local script is working.

      • Mike
        2010/07/05 at 2:03 am

        Hi, ive done everything in the guide but still no luck. I think there may be a problem with the rc.local part. when i run the ‘gobi_loader /dev/ttyUSB0 /lib/firmware/gobi’ command and check with lsusb it shows the correct device but on reboot it goes right back to saying 9211 and its been doing this for the past 2 or 3 hours…any suggestions? and one more thing, could you explain the carriage return thing? that may be where my problem is

      • 2010/07/05 at 2:44 am

        are you using 10.4? I’ve just gotten around to installing it on mine tonight. Though with it being the holiday, I’ve been not very attentive to it. About to attempt Chris’ method posting. Will update with findings.

      • Mike
        2010/07/05 at 6:53 am

        Im using 9.10

  14. 2010/05/28 at 8:56 pm

    cj :

    three reboots and still no love. lsusb shows the correct firmware, so the rc.local script is working.

    k, i’ll take a look when i get home and see if I can figure it out.

  15. John
    2010/06/01 at 6:41 pm

    any luck with 10.4 ?

    • 2010/06/01 at 8:32 pm

      Not yet actually. I ended up having to work through the weekend, but I’ve got a giant reminder on the whiteboard at home to test 🙂

    • Chris
      2010/07/04 at 2:12 pm

      I should have hit “Reply.” I put a loooong post in the LT2016U 3G thread that may interest you. I’m hard at work enabling the 3G card on 10.4.

  16. xjpvictor
    2010/06/09 at 2:28 pm

    Hi, may I know how do you create a new partition for Ubuntu? My Gateway netbook only got one partition and Partition Magic is not able to work on it. Thanks.

  17. Chris
    2010/07/04 at 2:10 pm

    I just wanted to chime in on this topic. I’m glad to see SOMEone has gotten this to work. It’s actually a pretty widespread issue with the Qualcomm card, apparently. Here’s what I do know. 10.4 recognizes the firmware and the device is installed correctly. The problem is, if you start cold with either the 3g device turned on or off, or if you switch-boot from windows through a restart with the 3g device *off only*, 10.4 mounts it as a usb storage device. I’ve found through trial and error that if I start in windows (where it works) with the 3g device *off*, then turn it on with the switch *while in windows*, then restart *without turning off the computer* into Ubuntu 10.4, the 3g device shows up in my connections manager. If I turn off the 3g device and then turn it back on, it’s gone and doesn’t show up again until I repeat the windows reboot procedure. There is a program available called usb_modeswitch. Don’t get it from the repository – it’s out of date. Download it directly from the site (just google it) and make/make install both the usb_modeswitch and usb_modeswitch_data files, as well as the config file. You then will want to enter the following command in terminal:

    sudo gedit /etc/usb_modeswitch.d/05c6:9211

    You’ll want to paste in the following and save the file:

    ########################################################
    # Gateway/Qualcomm Modem

    DefaultVendor= 0x05c6
    DefaultProduct=0x9211

    TargetVendor= 0x05c6
    TargetProduct= 0x9212

    CheckSuccess=20

    # MessageContent=”

    Here’s where things get interesting. You’ll note the in-line comment at the end. We’ll get to that in a moment.

    After you have created that file, assuming you have set up usb_modeswitch correctly (email me if you have trouble with this), enter the following in the terminal:

    sudo usb_modeswitch -c /etc/usb_modeswitch.d/05c6:9211 -W

    If you’re like me, you’ll get the verbose output showing that if found the 3g card, identified it correctly using the hardware IDs you entered into your config file (that you employed with the -c switch) and that the switch “most likely succeeded.” It didn’t succeed for me. It’s still not there. That’s where I’m stuck.

    There is a specific string that needs to be passed to the 3g card within the MessageContent field that I commented out. I have no idea what it is. The only real way to determine it, that I know of, is to “sniff” the port through a usb sniffer under Windows, where we know the card works. Since I don’t think you have a windows partition, you don’t have that option. I’ve identified a potential string through sniffing the port in WinXP, but haven’t gotten it to work quite yet. If you can figure it out through what I’ve posted so far, please let me know. Let’s keep each other informed of our progess. And like I said, email me with any questions.

  18. Chris
    2010/07/05 at 2:56 am

    By the way, as an update, I spent about 5 hours on this today. By using usb_modeswitch with a custom config, and wvdial (judo apt-get install wvdial), also with custom config, I’ve been able to initialize the modem from terminal from a cold start without even turning the modem on until I’ve logged in to Ubuntu. My usb_modeswitch config did not include a message. In fact I used exactly what I posted earlier. I just haven’t been able to figure out what Init commands *this* modem needs. Oh, I also added an entry through modprobe to permanently bind ttyUSB0 to the right driver and a 99-myown.rules entry binding ttyUSB0 as “modem”. Mod (sorry, don’t know your name), is there any way you can “sniff” out what AT/Init commands your working Ubuntu system is passing to the modem? I can only assume they’d be the same under both releases. I eagerly await your results!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment